Visit Bayanne to learn more about genealogy, textile art and archaeology. Daily tours and demonstrations available, open from 9am to 9pm all year round.
Shetland has many places that we’d love to share with you. Here are some of them.
Former grain mill housing Shetland's first purpose-built gallery showing local, national and international exhibitions of art and craft. Also café and gallery shop. Situated on the west side of Shetland, Weisdale Mill was once part of the estate of Flemington known today as Kergord. Open year round. Closed one week per month for rehanging.
Discover the natural and cultural heritage of Bressay and the fascinating Bronze Age Bressay project!
May-Sept Tues, Wed, Fri, Sat 10-4pm & Sun 11-5pm
Very popular seasonal Museum. Restored with traditional materials, the house is a typical thatched crofthouse of the 19th century that lets us experience life in the 1870s. Open May - September.
This renovated croft house is now a heritage centre, housing photographic exhibitions and other summer dislplays. Open in the summer months, Sunday 2-5pm and at other times by request.
The collection, displayed in the ‘Auld Skül’, covers Fair Isle’s fascinating social history, fishing and crofting culture, natural history and archaeology. Fair Isle is famous throughout the world for its knitting traditions and patterns, the abundance of sea birds and rarities that visit its shores and its many shipwrecks. All are in evidence in the displays. Open May - Oct: Mon 2-4pm / Wed 10.30am - 12noon / Fri 2-3.30pm
Tel: +44 (0)1806 566422
For hundreds of years the salt fish trade was in the hands of German merchants of the Hanseatic League. The museum in the Symbister Pier House tells how ships from Hamburg, Bremen and Lubeck sailed to Shetland every summer, bringing seeds, cloth, iron tools, salt, spirits, luxury goods and hard currency. Generations of the same families made the voyage and some merchants are buried in the islands. The Hanseatic Booth is open all year. Visitors can pick up a key from the shop across the road (shop open hours are 9am-1pm & 2pm-6pm Monday to Saturday) or at other times the key is in the house across from the shop.
Teas, homebakes and light lunches. Small gift shop selling handmade Shetland souvenirs and crafts. Large radio collection, weaving exhibits and local history. Hoswick Visitor Centre is a local information point.
May - Sep: Mon-Sun 10am-5pm
Apr & Oct: By appointment, tel: +44 (0)1950 431406 or +44 (0)1950 431284
This site is of great historical importance and consists of a number of ancient settlements dating back to the Bronze Age. Also of significance are the remains of an entire Viking settlement and late 16th century mansion house. Jarlshof was discovered in the late 19th century when violent storms uncovered the remains. Open Apr - Sep (Oct-Mar check website)
Please note that the Lerwick Town Hall is currently undergoing conservation work and will open again mid 2017.
Lerwick Town Hall is Shetland's main civic building standing prominently over the town centre and open to visitors all year round. The exquisite stained glass windows are a ‘must see’ on your holiday to-do list.
The shore is lined by the houses, stores and piers which are collectively called lodberries (from the Norse, "hlad berg" = flat stone). Take a walk along these picturesque houses with thick walls, slipways and fish-drying sheds. Open access.
Muness Castle is the most northerly castle in the British Isles; built for Lawrence Bruce in 1598. It takes the form of a tower house with circular towers and it has retained a number of fine architectural details. Open access.
Discover Shetland life 2000 years ago with experienced guides. Enter Iron Age houses, learn ancient crafts and games or dress up like a Pict or Viking. Visitor centre, workshops, tours, reconstructions and events throughout the summer. Open every Friday from 12th May - 25th August 2017 10.15am - 4.30pm (group bookings at other times by arrangement).
Beautifully restored 19th century water mill complete with visitor centre. A video shows the original mill machinery in action. Craft shop, tea / coffee / cold drinks. Disabled access and visitor information point.
14 Apr - 15 Oct 10am - 5pm (open on request from 1 April to 31 October, tel: 01950 460550).
Built by Patrick Stewart, Earl of Orkney, in 1600. In use for only a very short time the castle fell into disrepair after his execution in 1615, but remains still stand impressively by Scalloway harbour. Open to the public. Key available from the Scalloway Museum. Open access.
The Museum has exhibits covering Ancient Scalloway, The Boom Years, Time of War, Scalloway’s People and the Shetland Bus and is run by volunteers. The Museum is adjacent to the Scalloway Castle and a short walk from the village centre.
14 Apr-1 Oct: Mon-Sat 11am-4pm
& Sun 2pm-4pm
Oct-Apr: By appointment tel: +44 (0)1595 880250 or +44 (0)1595 880464
View over 3000 artefacts, including world famous textiles, Pictish art and boats hanging in the Boat Hall. Explore Shetland's history further through the extensive archive collections. The Shetland Museum and Archives also houses a cafe/restaurant and gift shop.
May to Aug: Mon-Sat 10am-5pm & Sun 12noon-5pm
Sep to Apr: Mon-Sat 10am-4pm & Sun 12noon-5pm
A world class visitor attraction, providing an engaging and interactive experience for the whole family. Visit, and explore the history and natural heritage of Sumburgh Head from early geological beginnings and Iron Age settlers to Lighthouse Keepers, Whales, Puffins and much more. Coffee shop and visitor centre open daily from April to September.
Open from May to September every year. The Cabin Museum is a unique collection of items, artefacts and photos detailing Shetland’s contribution to two World Wars as well as giving an insight into Shetland’s Crofting, Fishing and Whaling history as well as so much more. The Museum has ample parking, disabled access and toilets as well as baby changing facilities.
The collection was founded in 1978 by Andy Robertson and has grown immeasurably over the years to the impressive collection it is today
The Old Haa of Burravoe is now a museum and was built in about 1672. It contains displays of local and natural history, a gallery with arts and crafts, a tearoom, shop, garden and is a visitor information point.
16 Apr to 1 Oct on Mon-Thur & Sat 10am-4pm, Sun 2pm-5pm.
The Centre has two permanent exhibitions – ‘Whalsay’s fishing heritage from the 13th century to modern times’ and 'The Bruce Lairds’. The seasonal exhibition; ‘How WW1 affected a small island community’, is on display until 2018. Local visitor point.
May to Sep: Wed, Fri, Sat and Sun from 2-5pm
Apr to Oct: By appointment tel: +44 (0)1806 566422 or +44 (0)1806 566465
A unique collection of traditional small fishing and sailing boats, fishing artefacts, photos and information covering all aspects of marine heritage. Open May - September and off season by appointment tel: +44 (0)1957 755 244.
The history of Unst through displays depicting crofting, fishing, geology and unique examples of spinning and fine lace knitting, as well as information on family history. The Heritage Centre is also a visitor information point.
1st May to 30th Sep 2017: Mon-Sat 11am-4pm & Sun 2pm-4pm
Off season by appointment tel: +44 (0)1957 711528.
Taste of the celebrated Fire Festival showing a replica galley, costumes, shields, paintings, photos and video which make up this unique festival. Open from May until August, Tues, Fri & Sat only, see website for opening times.